Automobile accidents

Automobile Accidents In Texas

texas accident law

If you happen to be in any automobile accidents in Texas and would like to know what you should do, maybe this will help you. The first thing you need to do is act according to the State law.

You should never leave the area of the accident. You will need to provide information to the police following the accident and if you leave your driving privileges may be revoked or your license may be suspended.

You will need to assess the situation and find out if anyone was hurt. You will need to notify 911 to tell them if there were any injuries. You will also need to call the Texas police or highway patrol.

Another thing that you will need to do is exchange information with the person that was involved in the accident. You will need to get contact details such as phone number, name, and address. You will also need to get the driver license number, license plate number of the other vehicle, and automobile insurance information of the other person involved. You may also want to take pictures of the accident scene and of your vehicle.

As far as reporting an accident to Texas DOT, in certain instances you will need to report the accident. You do need to submit a driver’s crash report no longer than 10 days of when the accident happened if the accident cause a death or injury, there was property damage of $1,000 or more, and if there wasn’t a police report filed. In the report you will need to give current information about your insurance coverage. The DOT will check all the information to make sure it is correct.

One more thing that you should do is let your vehicle insurance company know that you were in a accident.